top of page

2019 - March: Kalanchoes, Rodeo, Maas Nursery, Indian Paintbrushes, Bluebonnets, White Pelicans, Mal

I will bring the site up-to-date asap but will get current quickly.

We began the month with Mom's beautiful Kolanchoe that Erika gave Mom last year. It has been blooming it's 'heart' out and in fact has the shape of a heart this year. It definitely improves Dad's porch and is a wonderful photo opportunity!

Color Section feature with monochrome background

On the 7th I had my annual checkup in the Med Center then parked at Reed Road Park and Ride and hopped a bus to the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo. Tim McGraw was the concert draw after the rodeo. I began at the Livestock Show, picked up a baked potato topped with brisket for lunch and took as many photos as possible . . . enjoy!

Barrel Racing, Bull Riding and the

famous clown . . .

Our beautiful flag . . .

Barrel Racing . . . Bronc Riding . . . and Calf Roping . . .

This dude was so cute . . . they had camel rides. This guy was resting in the tent but stuck his head out for a photo op.

I wound up with a seat on the 6th level . . . I think if I had tried I could have touched the roof over my head . . . I thought well, I'm just going to do the best I can with the photos and you can see that they actually were not bad at all.

* * * * *

The next Wednesday, the 13th, I went back to the Livestock Show and Rodeo . . . Santana was there but I could get standing room only tickets. I started in the horse arena and watched them judge the paints and other horses. They were beautiful!

Then migrated to the cattle judging in the other arena.

The standing room only tickets were behind level 1 and I got a place right behind the rail. Pretty good place for photos.

I had some job envy sitting there watching this young lady video the event . . .

This ride looked terrifying . . . snapped this while waiting on the tram. It was drizzling . . . and check out the walking stick held by the rider in the middle seat of the tram behind me.

This handsome rooster reminded me of the chickens we had when growing up in Dickinson on Utley Drive . . . hens clucking after laying fresh eggs, roosters crowing. I am thankful to have that as a part of my life . . . we always looked for eggs that had double yolks.

The quilts were exquisite as usual; but like last year the placement behind the plexiglass made it very difficult to photograph . . . look at the wood frames right in the middle of the quilt front . . . oh, well . . .

These youngsters, especially the pint-sized ones amazed me with their tenacity and courage . . . I was never confident around our cows or horses.

These kids displayed a lot of stick-to-it-ivness . . . used some unique methods to capture their calves . . . just the beginning of a year of hard work.

Bull riding is difficult to watch some times . . . why people put themselves through this is beyond me . . .

I really enjoyed the Barrel Racing . . . these ladies and their horses are so talented!

Steer Wrestling . . . who is doing the wrestling?

Love the expression of the 'cool' guy sitting top right . . .

Bronc Riding . . . yee--haw!

All these beautiful horses are related to the white horse in the center . . .

Santana . . . Black Magic Woman . . .

Dad and I had cortisone shots in our knees later this month. Mine helped for a while but then sputtered . . . we go for knee braces in April.

Field Trip . . . on the 25th our Photo Class went to Maas Nursery. Spring is a great time to visit for terrific photos of spring foliage. We ate at Seabrook Waffle after or field trip. Enjoy the best of the photos . . .

Nothing like a visit to Maas Nursery in the spring to invigorate a person . . .

. . . and now the beautiful Indian Paintbrushes--including a yellow one and some wild primrose . . . Blue Water Highway on the way to Surfside . . .

A beautiful Mallard sitting on a couple of eggs in a nest across from Dad's apartment . . .

Can you see her?

VERY good camouflage . . .

She sat on her eggs in a flower bed across the street from my Dad's apartment . . .

White Pelicans on the bay before getting to Bayou Vista . . . can you see them? (center)


Check out the hood ornament . . .

Aaaaah . . . SPRING . . . Bluebonnets

Lucky ants . . .

71st Street in Galveston

It was a really full month . . . my last on Surfside Beach . . . on to new adventures and more photos. The spring Bluebonnets came early and are prolific. We will enjoy them well into April. Have a wonderful day! S3


bottom of page