top of page

2016 September . . . Fall Is on Its Way!

This month started with my first Live Oak Photo Club visit on the first of the month. I was surprised to see about 20 or more members who meet the first Thursday of the month, submitting their assignments and discussing their assignments in class with a critic from a member who is also does judging of juried art shows.

Their assignment in August was Dots, Dashes, and Diagonals. Their photos were very interesting and the comments were very productive. Our assignment for the September is Gates and Portals. I will not be able to attend but am looking for photo ops. In October members will be taking 10 photos on the same subject, matting them and meeting with a judge who will critic the photos for free.

These two were grazing in a pasture behind the building we met in for the photo club . . . I could not resist snapping a couple of pictures.

We made our way to another of the restaurants in the area . . . Schobels. It is a German restaurant that also has some 'American' food. Their buffet was delicious and very fresh. The price . . . $11 . . . was very reasonable and the range of food choices were very abundant. We will return.

We took a trip to San Antonio on the 8th to revisit the Riverwalk, take pictures, and have some wonderful Mexican food. Tony drove us there and we were able to park fairly close. Just a couple of blocks to the Riverwalk and off we went. Camera snapping shot after shot.

Tony chilled on park benches when I shot my photographs. The Riverwalk is such a wonderful place to take photos.

There is so much color and texture in the architecture . . . so enjoyable!

And more . . .

Another thing that is so unique about the Riverwalk is all the wildlife that is so near and unafraid . . .

Another new subject matter I chose today was portraits . . . candids. I wanted to practice for my assignment at New Braunfels. One of my duties will be composing a daily historic photo presentation that will be viewed prior to our daily services. I am unaccustomed to taking people's photos. I found the girls taking selfies particularly interesting.

And the flowers . . .

One highlight of the day, of course, was the food . . .

We enjoyed an unexpected find along the way . . . The Briscoe Western Art Museum . . .

This area (Columbus) is SO full of history. We moved to Lake Conroe on the 11th so when we return to Thousand Trails Colorado River, I will pick up my bucket list and check off a few more things.

So many events have taken place in September . . . the first is the 6th anniversary of Tim's death on the 14th. Each year is different, not necessarily easier, but when I put everything in perspective I am still thankful he is not suffering any more. I miss his smile and his love for our animals.

On the 17th is my mother-in-law's birthday. She passed away a couple of years before Tim. There are several things I miss . . . visits to her place was always relaxing and in an area that reminded me of the 5 years I spent in East Texas. It was beautiful and I always enjoyed traveling in the area, the beautiful fall flowers, dogwood trees, etc. I also miss her pear preserves. They were to die for!

Also on the same day is my parent's anniversary. They have been married 69 years. WOW! We are about to celebrate our 38th . . . I cannot image 30 more years . . .

Back in Lake Conroe we found a great site with a nice cleared off space behind the site with crushed rock and the puppies and I loved the privacy where they can run around without barking at other people and animals.

Erika and William Rochelle were here for part of the time we were at Lake Conroe. We wanted to participate in the water aerobics but because of schedule issues, Erica was not able to participate. I went four or five times. It was fun.

We got a little cool weather before the month ended. The Feast is coming up in October and we are all getting anxious. See you next month.


bottom of page