top of page

2016 April . . . 2nd Quarter of the Year

Late in March Marsha and I decide to narrow down my choices of sunsets for the COM 50+ Art Show. After putting the photos on a flash drive, we made an appointment with Copper Derry to print. On Friday, the 1st of April we joined Copper to select, crop and print my picture. Marsha had purchased my frame at Good Will for $10. What a find! We were thankful for Copper's experience because he looked at the frame, pictures, and matte and picked the perfect sunset. It was so exciting to see it roll off the press.

We then headed to Hobby Lobby to have it framed. Marsha and I used their workbench to take the frame apart and remove the previous picture. The master framer, Steve, helped us get everything together, dry mounting the photo and putting all the pieces back together. It is gorgeous. I presented it to my photography class on Monday and viewed the other student's entries. We are all so excited. Tuesday was delivery for judging. Now the wait . . . hmmm

Steve, at Hobby Lobby putting together the pieces of my photo puzzle . . . thanks!

After posting my first YouTube video of sunrises and sunsets I decided to make a video of the photos I took at Brazos Bend State Park. It was only slightly easier than my first attempt but it took a longer period of time because the number of photos I included. Check it out on YouTube.

Marsha and I went to Galveston on Tuesday, April 4, and checked out quite a few art galleries on Post Office Street. We had lunch at a coffee shop that served wraps and sandwiches. Then we headed for Affaire d’Art for a photo workshop, Composition in Outdoor Photography. So from 3 to 5 pm we enjoyed sharing the expertise of a photographer, Irene Amiet.

We saw so many beautiful flower beds filled with every color of the rainbow. Spring is my favorite time of the year.

After the workshop we decided to go to East Beach and take some photos. I managed to try out some new things on my camera and took some wonderful photos of the beach, lifeguard towers, birds, sand toys, and beach goers. Check these out . . .

Big variety of subjects . . . our shadows were very long near sunset . . . the water was beautiful and waves so melodic. The lifeguard was very helpful. We enjoyed watching the four-legged friends . . . no wonder I cut the heads off their keepers . . . LOL! Some sand toys made a cute subject on the sand.

Gulf of Mexico at its best . . .

Can you believe this beautiful expanse of Gulf water . . . breathtaking!

The Smiths have been in Angleton since November and that has been a wonderful experience, however, on the 6th we strayed from our post and went to Lake Conroe. Tony had been working so hard that he just about burned himself out. We were invited to a golf tournament in Dallas by my best friend's husband and Tony was glad to accept. Originally, we were going to leave on Friday and go to Lake Tawakoni on the east side of Dallas. After Tony started thinking about it he decided to take off some extra days and get some much needed rest.

So yesterday I began getting some items tucked away and this morning finished the task. We got on the road and arrived at Thousand Trails before noon and after visiting with the ranger at the station, Kim, we got everything set up by about 1 pm. Tony had an appointment at 2 pm to replace the tires on the Honda at Discount Tire.

The puppies and I went on a long walk to familiarize Miss Pepper with the area. She had no idea what was going on when I began putting things away and bringing the slides in and when we took off she looked puzzled. She settled down with me on the sofa and enjoyed the ride.

The tournament was cancelled because of lack of participants, however, that did not change our trip . . . only we may just stay at Lake Conroe. We will see.

The swimming pool has a very large lounging area around it . . . plenty of space to soak up some sun and have lots of fun. We are comfortable in our site near the lake. We did stay at Lake Conroe for 5 days and enjoyed the down time.

Monday morning we headed out very early . . . 3:30 am. I had class and Tony had a doctor's appointment. So we towed the car back to Tanger Outlet. They have a parking place dedicated to RVs. After arriving in good time . . . being ahead of the traffic, we went back to bed. I awoke at 8 am and got ready for my class. We discussed homework and then movie making. It was fascinating.

Tuesday was the day Tony went back to work and I did laundry, bathing the dogs, and some cleaning. I had noticed that there were strands of silky black hair around and I was concerned because Ms.Pepper did not shed. I quickly realized that in spite of the fact that Jack did not put on a winter coat and hence was not shedding it, Ms Pepper had a nice winter coat and WAS shedding it.

As I brushed handfuls of hair from her body she expressed her thanks by licking my face . . . yuck! Next were the baths. Jack was first and was a perfect gentleman. Ms Pepper followed suit. After a brief towel drying I took them outdoors to dry the rest of the way. They were so frisky and happy to be clean.

Wednesday, the 13th was D-Day . . . awards would be announced for the 50+ Art Contest. It was to begin at 11:30 am so I agreed to meet Marsha at about 10 am to look at the entire collection. It was such a pleasant surprise to see the wonderful and varied types of art entered into the contest. However, the best part of the day was to find that I had been awarded Honorable Mention in the photography category. I was thrilled. My fellow classmate, Pat Given, had been awarded 3rd place in the same category. Both of us were first time entrants and thus were very excited.

I called Mom and Dad to let them in on my new accomplishment and invited them to come see the exhibit. They agreed so I went to their place, drove them back to Texas City and we three toured the beautiful art again. Mom was able to see paintings and 3D work by some friends of ours. We had our picture taken in front of my photograph.

The rest of the week is going to be pretty traditional.

We are having epic rain in the Houston area beginning Sunday evening and today, Monday, the 18th. I went and picked up my artwork. Our photography class (the last one) was cancelled due to the fact that Susan's (one of our classmates homes where we were invited to take photographs) sanctuary was deluged. Perhaps we will do it next Monday (and we did). Taxes are due today and so I had to go by and get some checks, write the check and mail it. I was soaked by the time I arrived back home.

Pat (the 3rd placer winner in our Texas City Art Contest) and Susan are relaxing in her sanctuary of colorful plants, insects, and animals.

I have labeled 99% of my photos on my Mac and have begun editing the small groups according to label and eliminating a lot of photos I can do nothing to improve and there is no reason to retain. My photo website should be up and running shortly. The Sunrise . . . Sunset photo book is in the works. Registration for summer classes begins May 2 and I will take the advanced class during the summer.

There are two ducks sitting on two nests by our pond. One nest has about a dozen eggs. The Mothers are beautiful . . .

Unfortunately the rising water from the bayou overfilled the pond and the nests were destroyed. Hopefully they will try again!

The next art contest involved the Galveston Art League. I decided to put my Autumn Finale back in this contest along with two more . . .

This one I called Coming and Going, however it did not make the cut into the show, but the other two did and I received Honorable Mention again for my Autumn Finale. This is a not so good pic of the other one--A Fish Tale: Oh Happy Day . . .

A Fish Tale: Oh Happy Day!

PhotoShop Elements 14 is my latest investment (along with Premier Elements for movies) and the learning curve is very steep! However, they have really good videos that can be repeatedly watched and followed . . . so this 'old' brain is getting rid of some cobwebs!

On Wednesday Marsha and I went to Galveston to pick up my ducks and took pictures of the Incinerator on 61st which is slated to be demolished sometime in the future. So GAL is having a contest for best pictures of the Incinerator for posterity sake. It is an interesting piece of architecture and a valuable part of Galveston's history.

After our visit to the incinerator we went to the cemetery on Broadway where all the gorgeous yellow flowers appear each spring. We spent a lot of time enjoying their beauty and contemplating all the people who have had a hand in Galveston's history. It has been said that April showers bring May flowers . . . well they arrived a little early . . . thankfully! We can use a bright spot in all this rain

Passover, Night to Be Much Remembered, and Days of Unleavened Bread completed the month of April.Where does time go? Donna was able to go with me to Passover and the first holy day. She is gradually gaining strength and hopefully will be back to her 'old' self soon.

The last event of the month will be the awards ceremony at GAL on Saturday evening. Tony and I are planning on making it down at sunset and enjoying all the art displayed.

Next month new adventures . . . until then have a wonderful May!

bottom of page