top of page

2016 March . . . Spring has arrived!

Short Trip . . .

The months began with the usual photos of sunrises and sunsets. However, on the 6th we encountered a dead alligator on the side of the road (FM 2004) when we were headed to Mom's. The poor gator must have been hit by a truck before dawn.

We stopped by Jimmy Changas after our errands that morning. The flowers in their beds were beautiful . . .

Spring is on its way . . .

The colors are so vibrant!

We grabbed a bite for us and Take Out for Mom and Dad. Their food is so good! We have not found any outstanding Mexican restaurants in the Angleton area yet, however, we have not tried a lot of them out so . . . I guess we will have to go searching!

More rain . . .

We had another deluge around the 11th, however, it did not begin to match the two floods we experienced right after moving into this park. The grass is green and trees budding out! Spring is almost here . . . I know I said that before.

Dr. Pepper . . .

Here is our little munchkin melting Daddy's heart. She is so filled with happiness and joy we can hardly stand it. Her eyes see into your soul. I must get a picture of her chasing Jack and latching onto the long hair of his tail.

New Recipe . . .

After visiting my friend in Angleton and making some Taco soup for her family I made some for ours. It was delicious. We topped it with onions, fritos and cheese. It is not quite the consistency of chili but has a terrific taste.

Here is the recipe:

Taco Soup

2 lbs. fresh, lean ground beef

1 onion, coarsely chopped

4 oz. can chopped green chilies

Taco seasoning packet

Ranch dressing packet

2 cans corn

4 cans stewed tomatoes

1 can pinto beans

1 can kidney beans

Brown meat and onions in large stockpot. Add remaining ingredients and cook over medium heat for 30 minutes. Serve warm. Can be frozen. Enjoy!

I used Rotel Tomatoes (mild) instead of one can of stewed tomatoes and the green chilies. It makes a huge pot.

Photo Class . . .

Our photo class is so awesome. We covered macro photography two weeks ago and this past week we discussed videos. This led into a very interesting discussion about YouTube, and all the other social places where people share their passions and some even earn big bucks. So I have jumped in with both feet to produce a video of my sunrise and sunset pictures for about a week, with music and transitions. So, check it out!

Here are some of the homework pictures from this month . . .

These are 'before' and 'after' post processing. I use Mac Photo for simple editing and PicMonkey for more serious edits. It is a free app online.

Some of these were taken the Monday we had our class at a class member's home and the bay area adjacent to her location. it was such a beautiful place to take photographs.

Before:

After:

I am entering a photography class and am looking at my panorama pictures . . . I love them . . . they tell such a wonderful story. This is the finished product. I will enter it on Tuesday, April 5th.

On the 27th we played in our second golf tournament together (along with two other friends, Frank and John). We won 1st place again. We played at Atascocita and had a great time. I took some good pictures and even used some for my class assignment.

There were beautiful flowers and wildlife around the golf course.

Marsha and I went to Brazos Bend State Park and took lots of photos. As many times as I have been there I have never seen so many alligators. We saw almost 2 dozen. The trees, moss, birds, lakes, flowers, walking paths, and water provide such a wonderful backdrop for the relaxing stroll through the park. I am going to do another video of the park for YouTube but until then here are a few of my favorite photos.

On the 24th I took some pictures of the moon that were very clear . . . my Sony is a keeper.

More pictures and commentary next month! It was a great one and I am sure the next will be just as great if not better.

bottom of page