top of page

2016 January . . . Another New Beginning

January has been an interesting beginning to the year with our newest member of the family, Miss Pepper. The only feat she has not mastered in her new household is reclining on the back of the sofas like Jack does. She has a solution to his doing that . . . she sits on the sofa, makes several small noises to invite him to play. If he ignores her she quietly reaches up, bites the edge of the blanket on the top of the sofa where Jack is reclining, then pulls it off the back of the sofa . . . along with Jack. Point made!

She has melted Tony's heart. He always says he is not going to get attached to this new puppy . . . yeah right! The pictures I take show exactly the opposite.

A ticket and parking pass are being held in his hand. This was the final Texan game which they lost . . . :(

My FB account was evidently hacked this month. A friend received an email with some bogus invitation and so I changed my password and notified all my FB friends. What a pain!

Mom is getting more therapy and that is a good thing. Her boot is just an option now. She wears it just to keep her foot straight. A brace is being made to help with the weak left foot and will be ready early February.

One Sunday early in January we were going to meet friends after their cruise, however, they wound up not being able to meet us so we ate at the Rain Forest, got ice cream farther down the Seawall, and took a ride down to the end of the island. I love the Rain Forest and enjoyed the relaxed meal.

Tony's new golf bag which he won in a Jackson, Ms golf tournament for closest to the hole . . . into the storage trailer along with the other half dozen bags full of golf clubs . . . hmmmm!

Dean built us a deck in January . . . it is wonderful . . . makes me wish we could stay in place for an extended time. It is constructed in sections so that we can carry it with us. Check it out!

This is the first section . . . 6' deep and 8' wide. Here is the finished produce . . . notice the fire pit? I had no idea it doubles as a grill and we love it. It also folds and has a cover for storage and transportation.

In January I began a photography class at COM on Monday morning. Marsha Jean signed up for it, told me about it and I got the bug to try it out and am I glad!

Our instructor is a former Technology Director at DISD and I recognized her. She is doing a fantastic job. We have optional homework and enjoy beginning our class with a PowerPoint of our photos. Our goal is to grow from snapshots to photography. Each of us gives a description of the photos and then the class and instructor comment and sometimes make suggestions.

It is so helpful to see what others use for their photos. Our minds are definitely expanded by the exercise.

We are informed of photography contests and I plan to enter some.

I continue to take my photos of the sunrises, sunsets, and our babies. I posted 11 groups of sunset/sunrise pictures on FaceBook this month. Here are a few you might enjoy . . .

Look at the difference in color that a few seconds/minutes makes . . .

This one was a foggy morning . . .

See you next month . . .


bottom of page