top of page

Spring . . . aaaaaaahhhhh! (Y2D299-320 )

I will try to update this throughout the next few weeks before posting.

It is now the 9th and a lot has happened. I called Mom Sunday about her therapist coming out on Monday for her therapy. She asked if I could see if it could be postponed. I called Angie and was able to reschedule and found out that Mom wanted to go see the Bluebonnets Monday. Dad had offered and she was taking him up. I planned on going with them.

We set out Monday morning about 8:30 am. Dad drove through Alvin and took a country road to I-10. West on I-10 we wound up in Schulenburg, then north on 77 to Giddings and back to I-10 on 71. We stopped at a lot of places and took a lot of pictures.

I had lunch with Margaret last week. We went to a Mexican restaurant close to her son's apartment. It was 'dry' until I entered his parking lot. You are required to put a code in to get into the parking lot. As I pulled in it began pouring down cats and dogs! I entered the code while getting drenched and it did not work. A guy saw me struggling and ran over and put in the code. He did not have an umbrella or rain coat but was out in the weather anyway, but he did not have to help me out.

I picked Margaret up and by the time we made it to the restaurant the rain had stopped . . . we were still soaked but drying. It was so much fun catching up on their recent family reunion and all the news about the cold winters in Ohio. I don't know how she does it!

On the 13th I was able to see my BFF again. Her neice held a class on Essential Oils and I was there for an introduction to the process. It was a nice, small group and the presentation was wonderful. Margaret went home on the following Wednesday.

I finally finished all the crocheted dishcloths in the 99 Dishcloths book. Whew . . . now on to other patterns and our new preemie cap, botties and blankets. Here is a cap I finished last week modeled by Mom's baby doll . . .

We have had rainy days intersperced with sun and cool winds. We ended our stay at Galveston Bay RV Resort on the 21st and headed to Lake Conroe (Thousand Trails). Mom decided to join us for a few days. Tony pulled the trailer with the RV for the first time and I drove the Honda. I went by to say goodbye to Mom and Dad and Mom decided to go with me.

She had a doctors appointment Thursday for the corn on her foot. We left about 10:30 am to get there by 2 pm. Stopping at Cracker Barrel, we managed to put away a plate full of blueberry pancakes topped with fresh strawberries, butter and raspberry syrup, along with scrambled eggs and turkey sausage. It was delicious.

Dr. Koepsel shaved that corn off in minutes, added a metatarsal pad around it to take the pressure off, trimmed her ingrown toenails and out we went. Mom had not made up her mind whether she was going back home or returning with me, but quickly made her decision after she found out how much better her foot felt. We went to her apartment and refilled needed items, then got back on the road, making it by about 6 pm.

One night we had DiGourno pizza (tomato and pesto) . . . they have 2 or 3 wonderful veggie pizzas . . . other nights beef tacos, reubens, tuna salad, and last night, fillet with baked potatoes and cole slaw.

It is raining this morning as it did last evening and morning. However, between the rain we headed for the hot tub. It was overcast but warm and inviting. Mom loved getting in the hot water. Tony stayed with her while I did 12 laps in the big pool.

They have an out-of-tune piano in the activity center so I took my hymnal over there and attempted to practice hymns one afternoon. Two keys in the lower octaves do not work at all so I just moved up the keyboard an octave so I could tell whether I was playing the correct keys.

Dean and Dad will probably come up Sunday to check out the fishing on the Lake. It is supposed to be a nice day.

Here are a few pictures of our new location . . .

After the sun broke out this morning people are moving around . . . some fishing in the Bass Pond across the street from us and some taking advantage of the breakfast at the Community Room. Tony is taking Jack for a golf cart ride and he is in 'hog heaven.'

My interpretation of a selfie . . . I was horrified yesterday when I heard how much time is consumed every day by trying to get the right angle on a 'perfect' selfie . . . yikes!

More later . . .

bottom of page